Skip to main content

#BookReview ~ Tears of Fire (A Lambeth Group Thriller) By Gordon Bickerstaff #Crime #Thriller @ADPase


Tears of Fire
 (A Lambeth Group Thriller)
By Gordon Bickerstaff



Two serial killers have been getting away with murder for years. For them, it's a well-paid hobby while they bide their time. It's about to stop when everything slots into place for them to leap to the next level. Payback for the people who killed their parents.

Lambeth Group investigator, Gavin Shawlens, is on their trail. But all is not as it seems and he is pushed way out of his depth when the killers turn on his family. Gavin's Lambeth Group partner, Zoe Tampsin, is cut off from him and fighting her own battle to stay alive.

They need to connect but Zoe will face an impossible choice. Stop the killers before they pull off the most audacious murder that will shock the world and change it forever. Or, rescue Gavin's family from the jaws of evil.



Dr Traherene’s exclusive and private clinic for terminal ill patients is not quite what it seems. Neither are the two Nurses, Jung and Seng. They may appear compassionate, but they are anything but…

Where to begin…. Gordon Bickerstaff has done it again. Tears of Fire (A Lambeth Group Thriller) begins like any good Bond film. Our heroine, Zoe, is in trouble. Will she live? Will she die? Will someone hurry up and roll the opening credits…! Boy, what a story. Filled with non-stop action. Very human heroes, and deplorable antagonists. And a storyline that was terrifyingly believable. The only way I can describe this series is that it is James Bond meets Mission Impossible.

Zoe is a female version of Ethan Hunt and dear old Gavin, is definitely Benji Dunn. They work so well together in the other books in this series, and they continue to do so in this story.

The plot, what can I say about it? It had me gripped from the opening chapter. So much happens in this book and the short chapters seem to help keep this momentum going. At times I really began to fear for several of the protagonists. Especially when they got onto the Wensley! Talk about tension.

If you are looking for a truly great crime read, then I highly recommend the Lambeth Group Thriller series. These books just get better and better!



About the author



I was born and raised in Glasgow but spent my student years in Edinburgh. On summer vacations, I learned plumbing, garden maintenance, and I cut the grass in the Meadows. I learned some biochemistry and taught it for a while before I retired to write fiction. I do some aspects of DIY moderately well and other aspects not so well. I live with my wife in Scotland where corrupt academics, mystery, murder and intrigue exists mostly in my mind. I have written the Gavin Shawlens series of thrillers: Deadly Secrets, Everything To Lose, The Black Fox, Toxic Minds and Tabula Rasa. More will come in due course. I enjoy walking in the hills, 60s & 70s music, reading and travel.
Useful Links

Comments

  1. Mary-Anne, thank you for this wonderful review. I am humbled by your feedback, and the Coffee Pot Book Award has made my week.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

FREE on Kindle - Unknown - Author Interview @PhilPrice19

Let's give a warm welcome to Amazon Bestseller, Dystopian / Sci-Fi, author
Phil Price Today's interview is taking place in a little country pub I discovered the other day. There is a merry fire burning in the hearth, where a rather large dog is sprawled out in front of. While we step over the dog and head to the bar, why don't you take a quick look at Phil's book

Every year across the world thousands of people disappear.
Many return home safe and well. Some are never found.
A select few end up far from home, harvested by two feuding brothers who need their blood.
How on Earth can this happen?
It doesn't happen on Earth.

#BookReview — The Fourth Courier, by Timothy Jay Smith #HistoricalFiction #NewRelease @TimothyJaySmith

The Fourth Courier By Timothy Jay Smith

For International Espionage Fans of Alan Furst and Daniel Silva, a new thriller set in post-Soviet era Poland.

It is 1992 in Warsaw, Poland, and the communist era has just ended. A series of grisly murders suddenly becomes an international case when it's feared that the victims may have been couriers smuggling nuclear material out of the defunct Soviet Union. The FBI sends an agent to help with the investigation. When he learns that a Russian physicist who designed a portable atomic bomb has disappeared, the race is on to find him—and the bomb—before it ends up in the wrong hands.

Smith’s depiction of post-cold war Poland is gloomily atmospheric and murky in a world where nothing is quite as it seems. Suspenseful, thrilling, and smart, The Fourth Courier brings together a straight white FBI agent and gay black CIA officer as they team up to uncover a gruesome plot involving murder, radioactive contraband, narcissistic government leaders, and unc…